The Forry Awards

Award for Service to the Science Fiction Community

Forrest J Ackerman at LASFS meeting

Each year since 1966, the Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society has presented the Forry Award for Lifetime Achievement in the field of Science Fiction. Named after long-time fan and “Mr. LASFS”, Forrest J Ackerman, the award is chosen by members of the club during a meeting usually in the mid- to late Fall of each year, and announced at that year’s LOSCON. In 2002, over thirty-five years after the award’s establishment, the club felt that it was high time that Forry himself receive the award that bore his name.

This award is not the same as the Big Heart Award, administered for forty years by Forry Ackerman in memory of E. Everett Evans.

For the Alphabetical list of winners, click here.

Recipients by Year

1966 Ray Bradbury
1967 Fritz Leiber
1968 Poul Anderson
1969 Larry Niven
1970 Harlan Ellison
1971 Theodore Sturgeon
1972 A.E. van Vogt
1973 C.L. Moore
1974 Robert Bloch
1975 Kris Neville
1976 Marion Zimmer Bradley
1977 L. Sprague de Camp
1978 Leigh Brackett
1979 Jerry Pournelle
1980 Robert A. Heinlein
1981 Horace Gold
1982 Arthur C. Clarke
1983 Frank Kelly Freas
1984 Julius Schwartz
1985 Robert Silverberg
1986 Jack Williamson
1987 Donald A. Wollheim
1988 Ursula K. Le Guin
1989 Andre Norton
1990 Isaac Asimov
1991 Curt Siodmak
1992 Hal Clement
1993 Roger Zelazny
1994 Frederik Pohl
1995 Harry Turtledove
1996 Chuck Jones
1997 Jack Vance
1998 David Brin
1999 Connie Willis
2000 Anne McCaffrey
2001 Ray Harryhausen
2002 Forrest J Ackerman
2003 Philip Jose Farmer
2004 Len Moffatt
2005 John DeChancie
2006 William Tenn
2007 David Gerrold
2008 Joss Whedon
2009 Fred Patten
2010 Karen Anderson
2011 Mike Glyer
2012 Terry Pratchett
2013 Lois McMaster Bujold
2014 Tim Powers
2015 Tie: Charles Lee Jackson, II Spider Robinson
2016 Greg Benford
2017 Greg Bear
2018 Steven Barnes
2019 Barbara Hambly
2020 Neil Gaiman
2021 John Williams

Alphabetical List

Ackerman, Forrest J
Anderson, Poul
Anderson, Karen
Asimov, Isaac
Barnes, Steven
Bear, Greg
Benford, Greg
Bloch, Robert
Brackett, Leigh
Bradbury, Ray
Bradley, Marion Zimmer
Brin, David
Bujold, Lois McMaster
Clarke, Arthur C.
de Camp, L. Sprague
DeChancie, John
Ellison, Harlan
Farmer, Philip Jose
Gaiman, Neil
Gerrold, David
Glyer, Mike
Hambly, Barbara
Harryhausen, Ray
Heinlein,Robert A.
Jackson, II, Charles Lee
Jones, Chuck
Kelly Freas, Frank
Le Guin, Ursula K.
Leiber, Fritz
McCaffrey, Anne
Moffatt, Len
Moore, C.L.
Neville, Kris
Niven, Larry
Norton, Andre
Patten, Fred
Pohl, Frederik
Pournelle, Jerry
Powers, Tim
Pratchett, Terry
Robinson, Spider
Schwartz, Julius
Silverberg, Robert
Siodmak, Curt
Sturgeon, Theodore
Tenn, William
Turtledove, Harry
van Vogt, A.E.
Vance, Jack
Whedon, Joss
Williams, John
Williamson, Jack
Wollheim, Donald A.
Zelazny, Roger